Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question about focusing on certain scales...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Steve Harris Is, Aug 13, 2005.

1. Steve Harris Is

Steve Harris Is

Jul 4, 2005
    A guitar player buddy of mine, who's been playing for 10 years, jammed with me the other day and it went great. The one thing he mentioned to me (I'm a 6 week newbie) was that I could probably concentrate on learning the following 3 scales more so than the others, at least for now, because they're so prevalent in rock. They were Ionian, Aeolian and Mix.

My question is, are there any others (he also mentioned Pentatonic but I haven't really gotten deep into those yet) that I should focus more on at least for now?

2. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    Uhhhhhh maj and min, most definitly.

-Ray

3. groove100

groove100

Jan 22, 2005
    VA.
    i should say learn the major scale first (aka ionian scale)
    Learn it on different patterns or i should say different formation. then you can learn the natural minor (aka Aeolian scale) in different formations too, I would also suggest practicing arppegiations

4. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Actually, on 2nd thought, just learn the circle of 5ths and how to use it first. THEN go to your scales. I still say also to start with Maj and min.

-Ray

5. Steve Harris Is

Steve Harris Is

Jul 4, 2005
    If I could get my head around that damn Circle of Fifths I would love to work it first but it still baffles me!

6. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
  7. Bassist4Life

Bassist4Life

Dec 17, 2004
    Buffalo, NY
    What confuses you about the "circle of 5th's" (aka. "the cycle")? It's like remembering a name.

C major = no sharps / no flats
    G major = 1 sharp (F#)