1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question about funk & funk(y) jazz

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by havik180, Apr 22, 2006.

1. havik180

havik180

Oct 9, 2005
    SF bay area
    When I started playing bass, last Sept. , I was mainly interested in playing rock and punk (real punk thank you).Now after getting more into the bass and thanks to TB I want to get into funk , jazz and jazz funk. Now I'm totally new to the whole scene and would like some help as far as what and how to practice !?! I practice everyday , am taking lessons (learning scales and "ear" training at the moment) and expanding my musical taste.

Can anyone recommend some techniques to practice or what to focus on ? Anything else I should know ?

Thanks,
    Rich

some examples : Jamiroquai (stu zender) type stuff and a song that comes to mind is battlestar scarlatchtica by incubus

2. Ostinato

Ostinato Guest

Feb 7, 2005
    Toronto ON
    I'm no funk wizard, but I'd say work on your technique first. Work on consistency of attack, finger stamina, cross-string playing (very important for creating exciting basslines, read:Jamerson) , rhythm. Some guys swear by a metronome, but even better is to delve into your CD collection and start copping all the bass lines, note for note, then after you do that you can play along making up your own stuff while listening carefully towhat the drums are doing.
    Listen to the whole kit, especially the kick, and take your tempo form the high hat or cymbal. Once you're able to zero in on that, your phrasing will start to feel more natural. I just gave you 20 years of my own experience in that paragraph. Hope you do your homework.

3. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Previoulsy mentioned here at TB for practiing 16th note finger funk-
    Fretting hand(for now)mutes the strings.