Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question about how to properly play a fretless bass..

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by JeremyBender, Aug 29, 2002.

1. JeremyBender

JeremyBender

Oct 22, 2001
    NY
    Yea yea.. so I'm a noob.. I hope this belongs here, as I am searching for the proper technique to play a fretless bass.

Anyways, I have a MIM Fender fretless bass. It has fret markers.

My question is this. I play the fretless the same way I play any other bass. I am not trained, nor have I had many lessons, but I am to understand I am supposed to be playing ON the fretmarkers? Is the the case? I have been told that it would be off key to play it between the fretmarkers like any other, yet when I tune it, it only properly tunes when I play it like a fretted, and when I try to play the ghost markers as I am supposed to, it just doesnt sound right. I need help!

I know as an untrained player, maybe I should stay away from a fretless, but I love playing it. When I do use the fretless, we play mostly Cream covers or something along those lines, or usually improvs and silly stuff like that, and being that we are all amateurs, I can't hear if it's off or not, yet it sounds right to everyone, but people tell me that is the wrong way to play it.

Is it just the Fenders? Is it me? HELP!

2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

My 2 eurocents :

fretted and fretless are 2 completely different animals.
    Fretted are visual, fretlesses are all about your ears.
    If you rely on what you see on the board then you're damned, just like on an upright.
    Intonation should be corrected upon what you HEAR, not what you SEE.

My advice :
    practise your fretless in the dark, and do exercises with pedals and melodies (a ringing open string and a bassline higher on the neck) to have a reference.

3. JeremyBender