Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question about Jazz Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bobbykokinos, Sep 11, 2005.

1. Hey guys. I think my ear for bass guitars is kind of evolving or something. I dunno what it is. But, I've been playing a Modulus since 1996. I dont know why its taken me 10 years to figure this out, but I dont think its the sound I want. I dont know if I'm going through a phase or what. I'm starting to lean more towards to jazz bass, smooth, round sound. One main example is Meshell Ndegeocello's sound.. Man, I'd kill for that kind of tone.

I know alot of it in the fingers. If we set aside that fact, we have to look at the jazz bass.. I know her jazz bass is pretty old but I dont know the exact year. She also uses flats. I'm not trying to copy her tone at all but I love the warmth of it. This may be a dumb question but is it really necessary to spend $5000+ on an older jazz bass to achieve that kind of tone?? I know, ideally, if you want a 60's jazz bass tone, get a 60's jazz bass. But is there anything else I could look at that would be me close within a decent price range..

This might be a long shot but I do have an SX jazz. Is there anything I could do to that (other than flats) that would bring me to a smiliar sound. I know I'm compairing a $130 bass to a thousands of dollar bass. Thats why I'm not looking at copying the sound.. I'd like just to be in the same basic area of the sound.

I love my Modulus and would never sell it. But, I think for what I want sound wise, its too "hi-fi"..

Any suggestions?? Sorry for rambling...