Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question about jazz strings

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by bassmonkeee, Oct 18, 2000.

1. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA
    Howdy,

I have been playing electric for about 15 years, and I finally came over to the dark side about a year ago with my purchase of a Strunal 5/20 3/4. I am not sure what strings came with it, but they have different colored string windings, so I am assuming they are D'Addarios. I was thinking of trying some of the Picato Innovation strings (honestly, the only reason is because Michael Moore uses 'em), or Thomastik Infeld. Okay, now for the question:

What is the difference between the 140H set and the 140B set from Picato? I saw them both at Lemur Music, and don't know the difference.

Also, Which of the Thomastik sets are good for a newer upright player who will be doing mostly pizz with a little bit of Arco? I see 8 different models of strings and my eyes start to glaze over..I know that there is no "perfect" string, but I figure I only have fiberglass bows, anyway, so I am mostly looking for a good fingerstyle string. I would prefer less tension over higher tension, but if it sounds good, I will be happy.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Jason

[Edited by bassmonkeee on 10-18-2000 at 01:37 PM]

2. Tim Ludlam

Tim Ludlam

Dec 19, 1999
    Carmel, IN
    bassmonkeeeeeeeee:

There are several guys on this board that can blow you away with their knowledge of strings, so I'll merely address the questions about Picato Strings.

140H - Means solid core. They are full-tension strings with a solid synthetic core. Primarily pizz.

140B - Means braided core. These strings are designed more for arco.

If it really came down to buying Picatos, you would probably be better off with the solid core. Based solely on your stated goals.

3. bassmonkeee