question about p-style pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by nataku, Nov 24, 2004.

1. nataku

Jun 21, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    ive been playing for about 2 years this christmas and im thinking about upgrading the pickup in my first bass. its a p-style johnson. i also have a warwick rockbass with active jazzes and im looking for a nice passive p to give me a wider range of tones. i was looking at the dimarzio model p because its cheap. i was wondering if it would be a good decision to upgrade, since the pickup is pretty cheap, and would it make much of a difference in sound compared to crappy stock johnson pickups. i used the search function but couldnt find the right information, if anyone has any information or experience with these, it would be greatly appreciated.
  2. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    I upgraded my Yamaha RBX300 to Seymour Duncan 1/4 pounders and it made a huge difference. Do you like the feel of the bass? If so, then a pickup upgrade is probably a good purchase.
  3. luknfur

Jan 14, 2004

I like J's but I've acquired approaching a dozen different P pups trying to get a good P sound and have actually gotten much better P tone from many J sets or a PJ setup. The only Dimarzio P I've had was part of a DP 126 PJ set and the P by itself didn't do it for me. I not going out of my way for another P pup cause I have several sets of pups that have very good P tone - with a lot more flexibility.

If you like the bass and don't land a P you're satisfied with, I seriously consider routing a J at the bridge.
  4. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    I use the DiMarzio Will Power Middle pickup. It's the P pup designed for(by?) Billy Sheehan.