1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question about PA/live sound stuff

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by jamisonsalamand, Apr 24, 2010.

1. jamisonsalamand

jamisonsalamand

Aug 15, 2008
    Alright, so I'm completely new to mixers and PA systems and all of this equipment.
    I need to get a PA system to run a mic through so we can have vocals at group practice sessions.
    I was going to get a Behringer UB802 http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Behringer-EURORACK-UB802-Mixer?sku=631238 and a Kustom KPC10 http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Kustom-KPC10-10-PA-Speaker-Cabinet?sku=600814 because I'm intensely on a budget and that's all I can afford. I was looking at it, and I realized they both say they are unpowered. It seems like the the KPC10 isn't powered itself, and it doesn't seem that the UB802 would power it either. I'm really confused about how to work this stuff, and I'm wondering, would I need a powered mixer to run the KPC10? And if I need a powered mixer to run speakers like that, would the UB802 only be used with speakers that are powered?

2. GaryM

GaryM

Jul 28, 2006
    Dundee, UK
    You need a power amp somewhere in your system (something has to drive the speaker). The amp can be a seperate unit, combined with the mixer or combined with the speaker. So:

Mixer -> Power Amp -> Speaker

or

Mixer with built-in amp -> Speaker

or

Mixer -> Speaker with built-in amp

... just so long as there's an amp in there somewhere.

If it's just one mic going into one speaker you could get something like the Behringer B 205 D :

... as you can plug a mic directly into it.

3. jamisonsalamand

jamisonsalamand

Aug 15, 2008
    Alright, that makes sense. I'm looking at this power amp http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Crown-XLS-202D-Power-Amplifier?sku=481584