1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question about purchasing first modular rig.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BWileyTally, Jan 15, 2012.

1. I'm pretty new to the bass scene. I'm a converted guitarist (wahoo!!) and I have a couple of questions. I have a very limited budget, say $600-$800 dollars. I have had a fender rumble practice amp which I just blew that I picked up for $30 bucks at a pawn shop that lasted for 5 months. I've been drowned out this whole time. Time for a new amp. :D

From reading the forums I've decided I don't want another combo. I'm gonna go modular. Here is my bands situation. Our drummer is loud, VERY LOUD. We don't want to change that. We have 3 guitarists (one lead, one krunch/rhythm, and one acoustic/singer) each pushing out over 100 watts in their respected amps. I am wanting something that's going to cut through all of this.

I am looking at a Carvin r1000 tomorrow from a guy for $200. Leaving $400-$600 to play with.

My question is this more specifically. Would you go with the Avatar 210 ceramic (rated at 700 watts, as this amp on 8ohm bridged setting will do 700 watts) or is there something else that I can use? Is the 210 going to cut through the "noise"?

Am I paying too much attention on watts? I can always add a second 210 cab in the future for when we start gigging (say 3-4 months down the road).

Any other suggestions perhaps?

2. Chances are that a single 210 is not going to be enough, I know it wouldn't for me. I would suggest either a 410 or a 212 to start, go bigger if you can.

3. I dont think a 410 will keep up with the gui**** volume he is talking about. 3 gui**** with 100 watt heads?