Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question about putting a J neck on a Pbass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mongeaux, Apr 17, 2004.

1. Mongeaux

Mongeaux

Apr 14, 2004
    Here is my situation. After playing guitar for over 20 years I decided to get a bass. It turned out to be a great idea! I get lots more calls for work as a bass player.

My first bass was a Fender MiM Jazz bass. The necks on everything else just seemed HUGE.

But now that I have been playing for a few years and learned more about bass tone I have decided that the sound I really want would be that of a P bass. I play Blues and Jazz exclusively.

Now there is no way I can see myself doing all of my Jazz work on that larger Pbass neck. Blues would be no problem as the lines are simple.

The question is, if I get a Pbass with a Jazz neck on it will it still sound like a Pbass? I have tried one out in a local store but I honestly can't tell. Instuments always sound different in a store than on an actual gig, it makes it hard to judge what it will sound like. On top of that I play on flatwound strings. New basses all come with wound round so I am stuck not knowing what the bass will really sound like till I get it home.

My last trip to the store I picked up an Ibanez and was amazed at how good it played. Now if I could just figure out how to get a good Pbass old school blues tone out of it I might switch to Ibanez.

/sheesh why is nothing ever simple
    :meh:

2. I'd say a Jazz neck on P body would still sound like a P-Bass. It's a common procedure that lots of people do. You can probably buy a Jazz neck direct from Fender, or buy off of Warmoth or other parts sites. You can even buy used necks on Ebay.

3. Dr.SixString

Dr.SixString

Apr 30, 2002