Question about this Peavey Stack

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Timebutt, Nov 6, 2005.

1. Hello,

I'm rather new in bass, but I must say: I'm really addicted. At the moment I'm playing in a band of some friends, and we're planning to do some small performances (play at parties, clubs, ...) but I think I will be lacking power with my current amplifier. I'm playing a Rickenbacker (view picture) TR35, 75 Watts of power (althought I think some watts are lost because of it's age) of 1979, pretty old huh.

So I started searching for a more powerful amplifier within my budget (I'm just a student, so this is rather important) and I suddenly came across this wonderful offer: somebody is selling two Peavey bass cabinets (view picture) one being a 115 BVX BV(15inch + horn) and a 210 TVX (2*10inch) cabinet, totalling 500 watts, both at 4ohm, priced 250€. Only problem I had, is that I had to start looking for a head matching this stack. I ended up at the Peavey Max 450 (450 watt 2 ohm, 300 watt 4ohm, 175 watt 8ohm), at the nice price of 350€.

This would total 600€, with a new head and second hand bass cabinets, but the only problem is, since this is a pretty expensive thing for me, is this stack worth it's money and is this good quality that will last for a very long time?

Please tell me all the suggestions you may have, since I'm not experienced in stacks + heads, and I would like to learn much about it. All your advice is very much appreciated!

Thank you for your attention,
    Nils Tijtgat (
  2. xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    I think it's a good deal. Peavey gear is known for being "bullet proof" so I don't doubt that you will have any problems with that rig in the future. However, I might suggest to you getting a dolly on account of peaveys gear being a little on the heavey side.
  3. Jimmy P.

Jimmy P.

Apr 5, 2005
    Tokyo, Japan