Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

question about this vintage bass TELESTAR???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by boomboom78, Jun 18, 2003.

1. boomboom78

boomboom78

Jun 18, 2003
    hattiesburg ms
    Okay I'm trying this again. I'm not sure if it got posted because I lost the window somehow the first time I tried to write this. Here it is again.

This is my first post. I recently started learning bass. I got tired of using a borrowed bass so I bought one and I'm hoping someone can give me some info on it. Here is what I know.

It's a very short scale bass, no longer than a regular guitar. It is called Telestar and was supposedly made in Japan in the 60's, or at least that's what the seller said. It's a 4 string in line and is comparable to the Fender Music Master. It's a bit shorter than Music Master but I think they both have 20 frets. It's obviously old, judging from the style of the bridge and the pickups. It has a working truss rod.

I'm enjoying the hecl out of it and am picking up bass very quickly. I'm just curious if anyone knows anything about TELESTAR because I have been trying to research the history of the name and have found very little info on anything called telestar and definitely no short scales. I'm just curious who made it, where, when, etc, but any info you have is welcome. I'm trying to attach a pic of the bass. Email me if you want. Thanky!!!

~A

2. Paul A

Paul A

Dec 13, 1999
    Hertfordshire U.K!
    As far as I can make out "Telestar" was the house brand of a New York company called "Inter-Mark" (International Marketing?).
    Their guitars seem to have a pretty good reputation so there's no reason that their basses wouldn't.
    Probably made in the same factory that brands like "Colombus" and "Samick" etc were made in the mid/late sixties.