1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question before lessons

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Depth_Charge, Jun 7, 2007.

1. I finally got in touch with a bass player who thankfully is willing to give me a few lessons.

I told him I'd been self taught for 10 years, knew I had some bad habits, and would like him to review my technique, maybe do some theory with him and learn some fretboard tapping which I remember him to be quite proficient at.

He surprised me by first saying yes (he doen't teach anymore), then by saying he didn't expect me to need more than 4 one hour lessons (at 25 bucks Australian a lesson, IOW cheap!).

He is going to give me some written material to go over as well as run me through "modes and stuff", as well as the tapping I asked about near the end.

I really appreciate him pushing his schedule aside for me (he's heavily in the Perth music scene, plays in an original act etc) and I was honestly taken aback by the 4 lesson assessment.

I guess I'm not really sure what to expect and perhaps somewhat concerned I might be wasting his time for very little money.

Any thoughts on approaching being taught for the first time, so I can make the most of it, are most welcome!

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Gold Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    Write down every question you have. Seriously. I know you'll feel like a dork doing that, but trust me, you'll forget something, and if this guy is giving you only 4 lessons, you'll want to make the most of all of them. Show him something that you can play well, and show him something that demonstrates the problems that you are asking about. Be prepared to answer questions about your goals and what you want to get out of bass playing.