1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question concerning my amp and effects pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by BassNStrings, Jun 17, 2014.

1. BassNStrings

BassNStrings

Jul 15, 2013
    Hello all,
    I recently purchased a Peavey 100 watt amp. I am just starting out so for my needs this is perfect for practicing in the bedroom and jamming with a guitarist buddy in the garage. For the record, my amp settings are as follows,
    gain - 6
    bass - 5
    mid -8
    treble - 7
    volume - 6

Sound is good and strong, no hissing or feedback. Now my problem,
    I have a BOSS Dynamic Wah pedal. When I activate the pedal, I can hear a very audible wind like wooshing sound coming through the amp. Adjusting the pedal's dials can lessen it but the wind sounds are still there. I have looked at other threads for help and guidance but nothing seems to work. I am a noob so I will ask this question, do you need to have an amp of a specific wattage in order for the pedals to work or is it a matter of adjusting the amp knobs once the pedal is activated? Should I look at getting a noise suppressing pedal to aleviate this issue. I thank you all for any suggestions and knowledge you can give me.

2. Dave W

Dave W

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    No, you don't need any specific amp. It sounds to me like there is something wrong with the wah or it's just not the sound you're looking for in a bass wah.

3. BassNStrings

BassNStrings

Jul 15, 2013