Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question for 5 String bassists

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MrFortuneCookie, Oct 17, 2000.

1. At the moment, i play a 5 string bass. I am about to get myself a new bass in the near future and it's gonna be a decently priced one. That is, a Stingray or Stingray 5 with a piezo and fretless. As you can see, i am not sure which, i am not sure if i want to continue using 5 strings because i'm not sure if i need it or not and it might just be a pain to be there, even though my current bass is 5 strings.
    My question then is, what do you guys use your 5th string for? Music wise, like, what type of music do you use it for? ie: Reggae, Metal, Rock, etc.

2. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    MFC -

Well, technically I'm a 6 string bassist, but I do have that wonderful big FAT B string too, so I can address your question:

I've played just about every style of music you can imagine; rock, metal, country, pop, polka, oompah band (German drinking songs), Latin, latin rock, klezmer (Jewish polka, sorta...and scary hard to play).... heck, basically everything this side of Balinese Gamelan or Balkan music. I use my B string constantly in all of it, several different ways.