Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question for classical bassists

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by yawnsie, Mar 23, 2001.

1. yawnsie

yawnsie

Apr 11, 2000
    London
    Recently, I've been listening to some of my father's classical CDs, and became curious about the bassist's role in an orchestra. When you a piece in front of you, do you follow the notes exactly, or is there room for interpretation - different phrasing and voices of notes, grace notes, etc?

I know that this is probably a stupid question, with a ridiculously obvious answer, but I'm only an ignorant toy bassist getting ideas above my station...

2. dhosek

dhosek

May 25, 2000
    Los Angeles, CA
    In classical music, the musicians, as a rule follow the music, with interpretations dictated at a section level by the principal and at the ensemble level by the conductor. When you've got, say, 8 basses playing, it's essential that they're playing the same notes at the same time with the same style to avoid getting the feel of mud at the bottom of the music.

This is not to say that there's no room for interpretation and improvisation in classical music: Traditionally, for example, the cadenzas in pieces were improvised by the performer. Also, a lot of accompaniment (continuo) might have been marked using the functional equivalent of a chord chart (figured bass notation gives the bass line and voicings for the harmony above it which is used as the basis for an improvised accompaniment).

Does that answer your question?

-dh

3. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY