Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question For Guitarists...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Tyler Hole, Dec 23, 2004.

1. If any, what chord is this?

E-2
    B-3
    G-4
    D-0
    A-0
    E-x

I started playing it randomly and it sounds cool, but I can't seem to figure out what chord it is.

-Tyler

2. jive1

jive1 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA
    Owner/Retailer: Jive Sound
  3. Or a Bmin/A, either one.

Try this chord: (Gmaj7/A)

E-2
    B-3
    G-4
    D-5
    A-0
    E-x

Or how about this? (another Gmaj7/A)

E-2
    B-3
    G-0
    D-4
    A-0
    E-x

Gosh, some voicings sound so good on the guitar. I could mess around with chords forever! :)

4. That was me all last night.

5. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    Try this one:

A - 0
    D - 7
    G - 7
    B - 6
    E - 0

Play it as an arpeggio from the low string to the highest. It's the "We'll be right back" chord.

6. Kelly Coyle

Kelly Coyle Supporting Member

Nov 16, 2004
    Mankato, MN
    I think, out of context like that, you need to name it from A which sounds like the root.

ADGBF#

It's kind of dominant, so A13, but that D...

could be something like:
    A13sus

I sort of hear it as a quartal chord with extensions. I've never known how to signify those with chord symbols -- I always use A4 (etc.). So: A4(add 9, add 13).

Or just call it "Fluffy."

7. Thats a cool one! Thanks for showing me. I'm getting this 600page book all about guitar..manufacturers, chords, scales, arpeggios, the works. So I'll hopefully learn some cool stuff from that.

8. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member