1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question for handy people re: voltage converters for appliances

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by csala, May 17, 2011.

1. csala

csala

Aug 14, 2005
    Santa Monica, Ca
    Hi there,

I have a question which I hope will be an easy one for those more handy than myself.

I have a washing machine with the 220v plug (large round one). I want to move it to an area where only standard 3 prong plugs are (the ones you find in your living room).

Can I buy some type of stand alone voltage converter to handle the job, or do I need an electrician to change out the plug?

Thanks in advance for your help... I hope my man card isn't revoked :)

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    I am not an electrician.

But in my view, a wash machine will draw so much power that it would take a sizable step-up transformer, possibly costing more than a new wash machine. And of course that transformer will have its own efficiency losses.

Does the wash machine really run on 220? I thought only electric dryers did. There should be a plate on the back of each appliance with the actual requirements. If it's a 110 V washer with an oddball plug to let it run on one side of a 220 V outlet, then you might just have to replace the plug. If you are moving into an area that has gas service, you might consider getting a gas dryer. In some areas, the gas company will hook up your gas for free.

3. csala

csala

Aug 14, 2005
    Santa Monica, Ca
    This is one of those stack-able washer/dryer units. I should have been more clear.

4. L-A

L-A

Jul 17, 2008
    Eh?