1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question for Instructors

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by LakeEffect, Mar 26, 2013.

1. LakeEffect

LakeEffect

Feb 21, 2013
    Denver
    Apologies if this has already been discussed, the keywords I searched brought up numerous and plentiful results that were a little overwhelming to sift through.

I have been playing for about six months, attempting to teach myself, mostly focusing my efforts on technique and ear training. I am, however, fortunate enough to finally begin taking lessons in early May.

My question is, as an instructor, what do you wish every student who walked through your door already knew (considering they are specifically coming to you for instruction in the first place), especially when they already have passable technique?

I want to hit the ground running when I get there by taking some initiative and covering some basics (hey, I'm excited after all!). Is learning all the notes of each key a good place to start? That is what I'm working on now, and I'm making progress. Is there anything else, something I could learn from readily available free resources that they will be pleased we can "fast forward through"?

Thank you for your suggestions!

2. Portphilia

Portphilia

Jun 8, 2012
    SATX
    One piece of advice I can give you is that if you don't already know them, learn where all of the notes on your bass are. It will help you get familiar with the instrument, and it should certainly help speed up learning things that your teacher may show you.

3. LakeEffect

LakeEffect

Feb 21, 2013
    Denver
    Working on it! I have certain areas down just from practicing major scales, but I'm trying to fill in a few problem areas. Thanks for the tip, keep em coming!

4. Snarf

Snarf

Jan 23, 2005
    Glen Cove, NY