Question for Jerrold Tiers

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Stonie, Oct 19, 2011.

1. Stonie

Stonie

Oct 19, 2011
    Hi Jerrold,

I've a '95 SVTIIIPro in my possesion (but not immediately right now) since new and I've been reading the various posts on here regarding the mosfet matching & bias adjust issue, ie. how to do it etc. and although I'm not an electronics guy by profession, adjusting the bias is well within my capabilities.

However, I've read a number of other posts on hear and other forums were it is being recommended, in order to "so called" help stabalise mosfet operation, to change the 47Ohm 1/2Watt (R28-31/40-43) and 0.47Ohm 5Watt (R32-39) resistors to a tighter 1% tolerance allround... Is this something you would recommend ?

In addition, for selecting and matching the mosfets... Is there any simple DIY way of doing this ?

TIA

2. Hi.

I'd say You answered that question right there.

Matching MosFets isn't rocket surgery, but the thing is, You have to have a crapload of 'em in order to match to any meaningful tolerance. And You end up with a lot of matched pairs, quartets etc. that You can't probably use, and no-one will buy them as matched from non reputable source.

Just the same as it's with tubes, can't really match them without an ample supply of that particular tube.

Regards
    Sam

3. The way I heard it is that only pairs have to be matched, and Ampeg has already done that. Matching all of them to each other is a waste of time and money. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm mistaken.

4. Hi.

Depends on the circuit topology, if a pair share the same bias circuit, then that pair has to be matched, if a triplet share the bias circuit, that triplet has to be matched, and so on.
    Preferably, one wants both banks of push and pull to be matched as well to reduce distortion though.