Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question for Michael...

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by Knavery, May 12, 2005.

1. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Denver, CO
    Michael,
    I have been playing bass for about ten years now. I had started out on guitar about fourteen years ago, but switched when some friends needed a 4-string slinger. Of course, that's how many of us start.

I haven't been playing in a band since 2002 or so and wanted to get serious again. Last year, I bought a Warwick FNA Jazzman 5 and a fairly nice rig -- Beringer Ultrabass 300w head with a 212 Avatar cab. I never played! I don't have any idea why I didn't have the itch to play.

Come two weeks ago. I went to a local GC and tried out some basses. I picked up a Fender and was COMPLETELY blown away. So, I bought an American Series Jazz bass. Then, I got to thinking... Why am I playing this Warwick I don't like? Sure it's expensive... Sure it's made from nice woods etc. etc. But I can spend all the money I want and it's not going to mean a thing if I don't like the feel. Hence the end of my superficiality and vain attempt at looking cool.

I found my bass. A Fender American Series Jazz. I loved the feel... I loved the sound. I loved the simplicity and ruggedness of it. I never cared for Fenders as a guitar player, but their basses rock. Then, I bought a Geddy Lee Signature. I've turned into a Fender whore. I never imagined I'd ever say that. So now my Warwick is on the block.