1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question for the acoustical experts: Why go with a 5" speaker array?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CodaPDX, Mar 23, 2009.

1. CodaPDX

CodaPDX

Feb 2, 2009
    I'm an engineer, so while I'm relatively new to the bass guitar, I've already managed to spend an embarrassingly large amount of time in between work, practice, and rehearsals researching all the nuts, bolts, and juicy physics behind low frequency sound reproduction. Really interesting stuff for the mechanically-minded.

I'm a little confused by the diversity of approaches to the design of high end speaker cabs, though. On one hand you've got traditionalists like Epifani and Bergantino that make the best of the relatively flawed approach that characterizes mainstream cabinet design. On the other you've got cabinets like the Big One and fEarful, designed from the ground up with solid acoustic engineering principles. And then way out in left field you've got the small speaker array approach characterized by Phil Jones Bass and MarkBass' smaller products. The first two groups I can understand - there's generally a compromise between what the market expects and what the acoustic engineer wants to deliver, and those two approaches represent different priorities along that axis. But the 5" speaker array approach? I have no clue, whatsoever.