Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Question for the masters

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bassnovice, May 4, 2005.

1. Bassnovice

Bassnovice

May 4, 2005
    Hey people
    I am pretty new to the bass as my name says and I have only been playing for 6 months or so. But I was trying to find out what is the difference between a bass pick and a guitar pick? Is it just the thickness? The guy who is teachin me how to play hates people who play with picks so I cant ask.

Thanks

2. chilipepperflea

chilipepperflea Guest

Apr 13, 2005
    East Anglia
    Hey,

I'm not experience, been playing slightly less time than you but in my belief, and from what i've heard bass picks and the stubbier ones, the fatter picks, where guitar picks are the thin picks.

However there are no rules to music! i dont like bass picks, ive tried but i whenever i need a pick for a song i go with a guitar pick, a lot more flexible and i feel i can do more, still get a good sound though.

Just try both and see what you prefer...

hope that helps, Ryan

3. Tash

Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    I also prefer guitar picks when I'm using one, but I prefer bass picks when I'm playing guitar...

4. Bassnovice

Bassnovice

May 4, 2005
    Thanks for the input. I think next time I go to Muso's i'll get a normal guitar pick and a bass one to.

5. chilipepperflea

chilipepperflea Guest

Apr 13, 2005
    East Anglia
    lol good stuff!

6. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
  7. Bassnovice

Bassnovice

May 4, 2005
    Thanks for the welcome.

but to be fair I was actually asking about the picks themselves not a comparison be between picking and plucking

8. Broach_insound

Broach_insound

Jan 25, 2005
    New York
  9. Bassnovice

Bassnovice

May 4, 2005
    Yeh thanks if you look at my last post and highlight it you would of seen the same thing