1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question for the pros , tone?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SunneyBoy, May 15, 2006.

1. here is a simple question for those of you who are out there working as professional musicians in studios live performances etc.

i have been playing for seven years my bass teacher never ever concentrated on technique with me as to how to produce a great tone .

Can you guys give me 5 pointers or aspects that are now perhaps second nature to you while playing that you use to produce the best tone you possibly can from your instrument eg. your touch placement of fingers of fretting hand ect. i am really trying to improve my game i just need some good coaching tips !

2. Hope you don't mind a non-pro offering input. I have been playing for over 23 years as an amateur but have recently started studying with a serious pro and I can pass along to you what he is telling me in regards to my tone. My goal, like yours, is to be able to play with the pros and not embarass myself with amateurish technique.

Right Hand (picking hand)
    1. Don't 'clank' - or bring your fingers down on the string like a piano hammer would on a piano sting. (Sort of the Steve Harris thing...). Rather, keep your fingers close to the string and pluck the notes very definitively, alternating index, middle, index middle (for those of use using 2 finger technique). This produces a more consistent and useful sound wave then the 'clanking' technique.
    2. Be sure to have an even and similar tone from each finger (index and middle) so you don't end up with a "BA ba BA ba" sound.
    3. He, and now I, have the right hand (picking hand) over the bridge pickup (on my Jazz bass) or close to, but not right on top of the bridge.