1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question for those who freelance

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by LiquidMidnight, Apr 10, 2006.

1. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    I'm currently in a popular Rock band that is full of talented players and is beginning to have success. Unfortunatley, the work schedules of our singer and guitarist prevent us from doing a lot of Friday bookings. Being a full-time college student, I like the money that comes with playing, so I put out an ad to do some freelance stuff during the week. I was contacted by a Blues outfit and I'll be doing a reheasal this evening.

I haven't talked dollars and cents yet, but I'm wondering how to go about it. Obviously, my main gig is the traditional situation. We make X amount of dollars. We pay our production people. Then we split the money. Like all bands, we've been in situations where the pay sucked, and we all equally took up the posterior as a band. *LOL* I want to look out for my best interest in the freelance situation, so I'm asking if a flat rate is the best course of action. It wouldn't be so much that I work for X amount of dollars, but rather if I get called for a gig, I take the distance and other factors into consideration and say that I'll only play for X amount of dollars. Obviously, another reason for the guaranteed amount is I may be dealing with people I don't trust. If I agree to get paid an equal share, I don't know if they're pocketing money on the way from the register to the stage to hand me my money. A stipulated amount would take care of that headache.

Any advice is welcome. I'm really excited about wearing the hired-gun hat.

2. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    As the old saying goes, "Be careful what you wish for, you may get it."

This is the best advice I can offer: