1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

question for you finger players

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by dean owens, Apr 2, 2009.

1. dean owens

dean owens

Sep 23, 2008
    pittsboro, nc
    first, this isn't a debate on what is better (finger/pick). i like the sounds of both. some of my favorite songs are played with a pick. i have played with a pick at various times in my life. a lot when i first started playing. and to be honest, i'm not that good with a pick. i have respect for guys who do it effectively.

STOP! if you did not read the first paragraph do not post to this thread.

so i play with my fingers and i watch different bass players. just curious if you other finger players "see" this too. even if pick players are playing a fast line or a line that is really moving around the neck, they look like they're just hanging out not doing much. but for some reason when someone is playing with their fingers, they could be doing the simplest line and they look like they're working. is it just me or does it give this appearance to others?

trust me, i know they're working (so if you're a pick player there is no reason to get defensive). one of the things that made me not very good with a pick is that i never developed the muscles for it and i would cramp up. i'm just asking from a purely looks perspective. no fights or snide remarks. oh, and if it's just me, that's cool. i just don't get to ask these questions because i don't get to hang out with any bassist. :meh:

2. Steve!

Steve!

Nov 5, 2008
    Yes I have noticed that and i think it is because many finger style players move their hands more obviously than a pick player who holds the pick firmly and plucks the strings
    with a simpler motion.

3. dean owens

dean owens

Sep 23, 2008
    pittsboro, nc