1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question on changing strings.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by ericmonster_tm, Dec 18, 2006.

1. I'm still a bit of a novice when it comes to changing strings. I'm not quite sure what I'm doing wrong.

Pardon my ignorance if there's something here that Im not doing right.

I previously had an early 90's Dean Edge bass. The first time I changed the strings, I got hellacious fret buzz at the first fret.

So i took it in to get set-up. The guy adjusted the action and the pick-ups and set the action pretty high.

So it worked, until it was time to change strings again. This time the buzzing was worse. So we adjsuted it. We thought maybe the truss rod needed adjsuting. So I took it in to get set-up again. By now the intonation is a bit jarred. Depending on the weather or how tight the strings are depends on how well it is intonated.

So this past weekend I got a very nice G&L. The action is really low, plays like a dream, intonation is great. No more odd looks as who is playing a wrong note at practice.

The bass had the original strings on it. SO I changed the strings.

Sure enough. Fret Buzz at the first fret.

So it doesnt seem to be the bass. I dont have the tools to adjust the action. I dont think i could get it in and out of the shop in time for the next practice.

Am I getting strings that are too thick?

Does anyone know what strings originally come on G&L's?

2. greenboy

greenboy

Dec 18, 2000
    remote mountain cabin Montana
    greenboy designs: fEARful, bassic, dually, crazy88 etc
    Well, here's why it's good to learn to do your own setups. Here's a good link for that: http://www.garywillis.com/pages/bass/bassmanual/setupmanual.html