1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question on octave pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Rich48, Nov 25, 2017.

1. Rich48

Rich48 Supporting Member

Aug 26, 2017
    Portland Oregon
    I have started to relearn how to play bass again after not playing for about 45 years. A lot has changed since the 60's and this forum has been great for trying to get up to speed on all the new tech. I have no experience with pedals so I hope my question is not too dumb.
    Does an octave pedal lower or raise a note you play by an octave? If so can you get notes to sound like you are playing on the b string of 5 string using a 4 string bass? If it works this way, what pedals would you recommend? Also would the Zoom B3n have this functionality?

Thanks

Last edited: Nov 25, 2017
  2. tfer

tfer

Jan 1, 2014
    An octave pedal gives you the octave below (and some also provide the octave above, but they aren’t as common).

As for using one to create a seamless B string, the answer is no. They provide a tone that is more sinewave(ish) than a true 5er.

Roberto Nunez and bassbrad like this.
  3. theduke1

theduke1 Supporting Member

Dec 22, 2010
    Manitowoc WI
    I agree with tfer
    I used a Digitech Drop because my band tunes down1/2 step and a band I help out tunes down a whole step.
    This allows me to keep my 5 string tuned to standard 440 but play in the required tunings.
    That way I don’t have issues with neck adjustments or floppy strings.
    My advice is if you need a low B get a 5er
    I hope this helps
    You are welcome to visit The Wisconsin Bassplayers Club here on TB anytime
    Duke

tfer likes this.
  4. Rich48

Rich48 Supporting Member

Aug 26, 2017
    Portland Oregon
    Thanks guys, it would be cool if a pedal could do that, but I guess I will need to learn to play a five string if I want to hit those low notes.

5. Spectre1966