1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Question on plucking fingers

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Herb Daly, Sep 29, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Herb Daly

Herb Daly

Aug 31, 2018
    Been watching some instructional videos and noticing that everyone seems to use the index finger as the 'downbeat' or initial finger and the big 'bird' finger as the 'and' finger. For some reason, I learned it (self-taught) the opposite way. I use my middle finger as the 'one' and the index as the 'and'. (Let me admit first that I'm a lefty but play bass and guitar righty) Is there anyone else who does it this way or am I the only one? It's just made sense to me over the years that the middle finger has more 'meat' and is more prominent than the index finger, and for that reason seems more suited to the downbeat. Any comments would be appreciated and taken to heart. (aside from telling me to relearn the plucking the opposite way and/or turning the bass around and learning lefty...I've been told I'd be 3X the player if I did either or both of these things, but I'm in my 60s and been playing this way for decades, so...) Thanks in advance!

FatStringer52 likes this.