1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Question RE: Connecting an iPod to Bass Amp Combo

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kkawachi, May 30, 2011.

1. kkawachi

kkawachi

May 16, 2011
    Hello, a total noob question here.

I play through a acoustic B450 2x10 combo. It has a passive and active input. The other day I was rehearsing with my group and found an adapter to allow my 1/4" audio cable to plug into my iPod and then into the 3/4" instrument input (i think these are the right sizes) to help us along since the drummer was MIA.

It ran most of the day through the active input, with my bass in the passive with no problems (even though it is an active Ibanez SR500 from the early 90's I like the sound through the passive pickup).

Now, after disconnecting the bass and while cleaning up that evening, the amp/iPod made a terrible noise so I turned everything off (though I must admit I don't remember if it was in the passive or active input at this point). The 1/4" cable no longer seems to transmit a good audio signal through to the amp with this setup today. The amp itself seems fine, and the iPod seems fine playing through my normal speakers.

So finally my question: Is this something I should ever consider again, or will I end up destroying a) my amp, b) my iPod, and/or c) countless audio cables. Would a set up with a instrument cable and an adapter to 1/4" be a better choice? Should I always keep this setup in passive or active? And on a related note it IS alright to play an active instrument through a passive or active input depending on the tone you want correct?

Thanks in advance,
    Kyle

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo