1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

question: re-learning finger picking technique.. no more nails!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by thehangingmist, Apr 26, 2010.

1. i started learning classical and bass guitar around the same time 4 years back so i always played the bass with my nails. i dont play the classical guitar anymore and have cut off the nails and am now learning to play with the fingers!
    so after playing for last few weeks i have built a bit of callous around the tip part on my fingers but now i get this nail like sound which is inconsistent and trebely/bitey. when i play with the lower flat part i get this thuddy muddy tone which doesnt reall cut through. now when am playing something moderately fast i get a mixture of both the tones at random which doesnt sound any good either :atoz:
    so how do you play, with the tip part or the lower flat part? can you recommend any exercise now how to build the consistency and tone, besides playing a lot?

2. stflbn

stflbn

May 10, 2007
    Nashville
    End of fingers, but keeping nails trimmed short enough that there is no pick attack sound. Tone knob is always wide open unless I specifically need tone roll-off for something involving the bridge pickup and burpiness, etc.

3. do some people incorporate their nail occasionally too?

4. I do a little bit, I keep my nails pretty short but by rolling my hand out a bit changing the attack angle I can get a little of the nail to bite for added zing. Being naturally left handed I spent a lot of time developing my right hand techniques, just slow deliberate work.

5. Yes. For an example go back and rediscover some Duck Dunn.

6. archer121

archer121

Apr 12, 2009