Questions about Music Major

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Ely, Aug 31, 2005.

1. Ely

Jun 8, 2001
    Huntsville, AL
    Ok, I am tired of sitting around doing nothing with my life. I am a 17-year-old high school dropout, I have my GED, but no real interests other than music. I've never had any formal training, I haven't learned to read music, but I am wanting to learn. I live in Huntsville Alabama and I was looking at the various music programs at the colleges around here. Would it be worth it to get my music major? I will take lessons if I must. Sorry if I'm not being very coherent, my brain doesn't work when I want it to.
  2. I majored in music for 2.5 years (yet, my degree is in Speech and Communication...).

You will probably need to take lessons for a few months to get up to speed on reading some music, scales, modes, basic theory, etc. Most music schools or programs will require you demonstrate proficiency in these areas. You can probably take lessons from a teacher at one of the colleges, and tell him/her your goals for getting into school and beyond.

Be ready for a HUGE time commitment. You'll have a completely full schedule of classes and ensembles. And you'll need to practice on your own several hours a week (I think we were supposed to be at 2-3 hrs/day, on top of 2-3 hour long rehersals M-F, and a full 18 credit course load).

Finally, look for a program that includes something like music business or production. You will be much more in demand for an actual job when you graduate. ;)

Good luck with whatever you decide!
  3. My advice would be not to do it. You'll end up working much harder than everyone around you, but end up struggling financially when you're done. If it's your passion then do it, but please make sure that you know what you're getting into.
  4. godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    i have music degree. do it for love and not for money. my folks always warned me about my job prospects but encouraged me anyway...