Questions about playing in church.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by shawshank72, Aug 20, 2013.

1. shawshank72

shawshank72

Mar 22, 2009
    Canada
    My new wife is a church person, i am not.
    I love my wife and i know its important to her so i go with her 2-3 times a month and she sings occasionally too.
    Thing is that word has spread that im a musician who can play drums, guitar, and bass.
    Theres nobody left who can or wants to play bass in the church.
    Pastor and others have been trying to get me to play.
    From the couple times they had a bassist they just played root notes.
    What i am wondering if i choose to play is how much bass should i play?
    The music ive seen is just what chords are being played and nothing else.
    Do i just play the root notes and hold down the low end?
    Do i add my own bass lines into the songs and be creative?
    If so how much would be too much?
    Ive seen videos of some church bands who play at top level.
    But this is a small church and they dont seem to be much more than average joe musicians.
    I just dont want to come off as overplaying, arrogant, or grandstanding.
    But it does intrigue me to want to play. I think it would be fun to switch around a sunday here or there and play different instruments. Especially with summer here and people on vacations and needing to keep the music going.

2. I sing in a praise band called "Living Water" at our church and my son plays bass. He started out kind of mellow while getting to know the other musicians and dynamics of the place. Now he lays it down thick when the situation calls for it and keeps it right where it needs to be. We've had that place rockin' many of times.

3. To me this question is much tougher than what to play.
    Not to sound arrogant, judgmental, or negative so please don't take it that way but the purpose of church music is to worship Jesus.