1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Questions about tempo, rhythm, beat, and being in the 'pocket'

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by addicted, Mar 21, 2017.

1. addicted

addicted

May 23, 2012
    I have few doubts and need bit of discussion about keeping tempo.

Before I took up bass 5 years ago, I was a drummer and I had been doing it for 5 years. When I was a drummer I felt like I had less difficulty in keeping the tempo and I was able to get the groove. Probably it is because my right hand keep knocking the hi-hat to keep the tempo constant. When I took up on bass, I started to realize more importance in keeping the tempo & rhythm and I also realize how difficult it is to keep a constant tempo and getting the right groove. This is especially reflected when I tried to record song covers. When I replayed my recording, I can hear my basslines sometime are not 'in the pocket' thus affecting the overall groove. Sometime I thought I am on time but turned out I played a bit too fast. My recording tells me that I am on time when I played slightly slower than what I thought the tempo is.

My questions are:
    1. Is it really easier to keep tempo as a drummer since we have that right hand on the hi-hat thing to keep the tempo constant?
    2. How to keep tempo when playing bass? How to practice? I looked up online and saw few creative tricks using metronome such as make it silent for a few beats. But I am open to more suggestion.
    3. Are we supposed to play the bassline slightly (as in very slightly) slower when we record? Or is it just my sense of tempo needs more practice?