Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

questions for bassplayers

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by No Name Here, May 7, 2002.

1. I am a high school student who plays bass, and for my final year english project I chose to do electric bass, however, the teacher says that one of the resources needed for this paper is an interveiw. The bass player I was originally going to interveiw had some sort of "family crisis" so I couldn't get an interveiw with him. My friend said to try the internet to get an interveiw, so I was wondering if any of you bassists would like answer these questions, there are pretty repetive, and not very good, but I'd be very happy if these were answered, because this paper is due in a very short time. Thank You.

1. What is the most important part when it comes to establishing a groove of some kind with the rhythm section as a electric bassist?
    2. Which do you think is the most important part of bass line, a good melody, or a good rhythm?
    3. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages to playing an electric bass compared to playing a standup bass?
    4. How do you feel about virtuoso bass players, who use the bass as more of a solo instrument then anything else? Do you think they’re breaking some kind of unwritten rule of being a rhythm men as a bass player?
    5. Who do you think was a bass player that really showed what the electric bass was capable of? Why?
    6. With all the various techniques that have been discovered on all the many types of electric basses (tapping, chords, slapping, etc.) Do you think there is still room to innovate, or have all of the technical tricks of electric bass been tapped out? Why?
    7. What part of a groove do you think a bass player and a drummer should lock onto?
    8. When playing in a group as a electric bass player, what do you believe is the best thing you could do?