Questions I should ask at an audition.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by OOD, Jul 22, 2021.

1. OOD

OOD

Jul 29, 2009
    I’m auditioning for a classic rock cover band soon. Some of them have played together but it seems like they are putting together a new band. They are twice my age which doesn’t matter to me, but it might bring on different questions.

What are some questions I should ask. I want to know what their goals are so I already know I want to ask about marketing ambitions, monetary expectations, and gig frequency and distance. If these goals don’t line up with what I’m looking for I don’t want to waste my time building a band I’ll be unhappy in.

What are some questions I should avoid? Obviously religion and politics, but I’m think more along the lines of not stepping on toes in the music and business aspect.

Bonus question: What questions should I expect from the band?

I have little experience with this because most of the bands I’ve been in have happened organically or have been extremely laid back jam bands.

I’m focusing on information given and received. I know how to be professional and have miles of content from searching TB on how to prepare for songs and act.

2. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member

I would ask about decision-making process. Is someone BL, do they vote on things, can you veto a song you don't like, etc? That would especially apply to set lists - do they already know what they'll be playing, are they open to suggestions, things like that.

Another relevant thing might be to get a sense of their hang/lifestyle aspect. Particularly, do they drink/420 in practice? Do they want to all go soak in a hot tub together? Depending on how you feel about that stuff, whatever they answer might be a plus or a minus.

3. Gothic

Gothic

Apr 13, 2008
    Greece