1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Questions on the toothpick method for screw holes

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Shroom, Aug 16, 2007.

1. Shroom

Shroom

Dec 12, 2006
    So, I'm gonna install some strap locks soon, and I figure I'll use the toothpick method. After my toothpicks and wood glue are dried and everything, do I just screw straight in, or do I drill a new hole first and then screw in?

Also, what are the chances that the hole will get stripped again if I do it this way? Is there a better way to do it?

2. Well, I put the toothpicks in the hole then I put the glue in. I wait for about a half hour and then screw in the screw. I let it dry overnight and it is ready to use. I have been doing it this way for about 20 years have had no problems.

3. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    I put a replacement strap button on my step son's guitar yesterday. Here's exactly what I did.

I put just a bit of Super Glue Gel in the screw hole, then I broke a round toothpick in half and split it down the middle with a sharp knife so that I had tooth pick quarters - each half the full length and with a flat side and a round side. I put the two toothpick pieces in the screw hole opposite each other with the round sides fitting the round edges of the screw hole, the flat sides of course facing each other.

Then I put the screw through the strap button and the felt, put a tiny drop of super glue on the tip of the screw, and then installed the strap button. The screw came nice and tight and I was done.

I told the kid not to hang it from a strap until the next day and I'm confident that it will hold up for a very long time.