Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Questions on whether I should or shouldn't assemble a Warmoth bass.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Jacob M, Aug 31, 2004.

1. Jacob M

Jacob M

Aug 28, 2004
    New York
    Hi, I'm a guitarist and I badly want a bass. I recently played my friend's Mexican Fender Jazz bass (which cost him around $450), and had a great time playing on it, thought it was really comfortable. I've been playing and modifying guitars for around 4 years, I've changed all the electronics on both my guitars several times. I know how to properly set up my guitars on my own, adjusting the truss rod/action/intonation is no problem for me. I've removed bridges and messed with them in other ways, I took the neck off of my friend's strat at his request and replaced it and noticed nothing different about how it played etc. after I had re-attached it. So hopefully, you get a feel for what I can do...

I'm also a tone-nut when it comes to guitar, I've spent what's probabally amounted to thousands of hours researching the individual things that make pickups sound the way they do, what different woods sound like, what different metals sound like, how pots and caps effect tone etc.

Anyway, I was thinking instead of buying a mexican bass, that I could build a Warmoth bass with a Gotoh bridge, Gotoh tuners, CTS pots and pick up some Mexican Jazz Bass pickups, all for around $500, and possibly spend $100 on some Seymour Duncan pickups later on along the line. It seems to be such a simple decision, a Warmoth body/neck and Gotoh tuners/bridge, all for a few dollars more than a Mexican Fender.