1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

QUICK HELP ADVICE NEEDED ON NEW/OLD L2500

Discussion in 'G&L Bass Forum' started by funkythumb, Sep 5, 2008.

1. funkythumb

funkythumb Supporting Member

Aug 26, 2005
    Atlanta
    Hey all,
    I need some advice. Even though I owned an L2500 years ago, I'm kinda new to the G&L family.
    I just bought a used 2002, L2500 on the bay. Bass is in cosmetically amazing condition (burst).
    Bass came yesterday. I did a set up and played it with the dead DR Low Riders it came with and there wasn't a problem.
    I restrung the bass with Elixir Nanowebs and didn't string through body but rather through the bridge.
    I plugged the bass in and HUM city. Really loud hum that would get me fired on a gig.
    I love the tone of the bass but can't deal with hum.
    I'm getting the hum in all settings: parallel or series, all pickup combinations, it's pretty horrible.
    The seller says that he'll give me my money back or will give me $350 to fully gut the bass and replace everything.
    What should I do? How do you guys deal with the hum without rewiring and losing bottom?

2. GGJaguar

GGJaguar

Jun 15, 2005
    The bridge on L-2500s can sometime lift slightly if they are bridge-strung rather than through-body strung. The slight lift in the bridge could result in the ground wire (under the bridge) losing it's metal-to-metal contact with the bridge thereby causing hum. You might loosen the strings and tight the bridge mounting screws to see if it still hums.

Good luck!

3. vroc38

vroc38

Jan 5, 2006
    Seattle