Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Quick question about notation

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by fretless_freak, Oct 2, 2002.

1. I was reading an interview and the musician was talking about ghost notes. What are ghost notes? Also, when reading tablature, when you see a number(meaning fret) what does (7) mean? That is the 7th fret in parenthesis. I don't quite understand a fret number in parenthesis. I majored in music for two years and was a percussionist for 6 years is school. Any info is greatly appreciated.

2. ghost notes, i'm not too sure, but the paranthesis usually means its the harmonic over that fret.

3. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    A ghost note is a note that's played, but the pitch is nonspecific. If you deaden the string (don't press down all the way) and pluck so you get a "thunk" out of the amp, that's a ghost note.

4. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    As an addendum to what Pacman said, ghost notes are normally notated with an x attached to the appropriate note stem.

As an additional note, make sure you don't relax your finger over a harmonic node - I'll often have all my lefthand fingers relaxed on the string before plucking it to get a ghost note.

Wulf

5. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    Guitarist magazine notate harmonics with a diamond shaped note above the 'normal' note.

6. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

7. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    Guitarist now incorporates Bassist and if you look hard you can find half a page of bass content.

8. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member