Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Quick question for soul/r&b/hip-hop heads

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by StompyJ, Feb 3, 2006.

1. StompyJ

StompyJ

Feb 3, 2006
    I'm trying to decide between an Fender American Series Jazz or Fender American Series Precision Bass.

The stuff I'd like to do is like (not necc in this order)

Neo-Soul:
    Erykah Badu (Otherside of the game, Next Lifetime, Anything off THE LIVE CD!!!!, Cleva, Back in the Day)
    Jill Scott (Golden, Talk to Me, A Long Walk)
    Maxwell (Till the cops come knockin)
    D'Angelo (Lady, Higher, anything from voodoo :)
    Meshell Ndegeocello ( ANYTHING from her, she the Queen!)

Acid Jazzy Kinda Funk:
    Brand New Heavies (that standard Andrew Levy sound)
    Jamiroquai

Electronica:
    Deep House tracks
    House tracks

Latin:
    Salsa
    Timba

I'm a music producer who works in these styles, I'll primarily be going direct input in a studio environment. I think you can get the vibe in terms of what I'm looking for. Now this is my first real bass, which one do you guys recommend that will cover the kind of sound I'm looking for. I understand ideally I'd need both, and eventually I will, but I need something in my hands ASAP :)

At this point I'm kinda leaning towards the Precision bass, and I might get a 5-string Jazz bass later on. If I didn't love Meshell so much, I think it'd be a wrap that I should get a precision. Reading on the site I see so much about how the precision isn't as flexible as a jazz. From reading this site it appears Raphael Saddiq, Pino, Andrew Levy are all P-Bass players, and I'm not sure what Erykahs bassists play. I'm not overly worried about slapping and popping, I just wanna lay down some deep grooves for my records.

Also, are the Deluxe versions of the basses that much better?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

-Eric

2. Jason Carota