Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

quick slap question.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Jonas., Jun 3, 2005.

1. Jonas.

Jonas.

Jun 2, 2005
    hey, i've been slapping for quite a while now (obviously not as long as some of you! ) but i'm getting nervous that i might have picked up a bad technique.

(see diagram below) i slap with the straight bit of section B that rests on the table if you were to lie you hand flat on one. i know i'm not meant to slap with the joint at all, so i haven't made that mistake, but for some reason i got the suspicision i might be doing it wrong. i labeled the diagram futher to help with any instructions you'd be willing to give me.

i am self taught, and have read lots of lessons on the net, but this little dilemma was holding me back

thanks for any help :hyper:

Attached Files:

2. Well, it will be different for everyone, but I'll tell ya what I learned off of the Slap Bass Program(Awesome video if you haven't checked it out). You take your string plucking hand, in my case, my right hand, and hit the string with the bony part of your right thumb. That part is where you put the line to seperate sections A & B. After striking the string you should bounce off the string to allow it to ring. That is the basic way to slap the string.

Oh, BTW, is that your hand or somebody elses?? :ninja:

3. Jonas.

Jonas.

Jun 2, 2005
    its someone elses hand :p

i thought hitting with the joint is a big no-no.. or is that the joint from the thumb to the hand.

4. I use section B, near the tip of my thumb.

5. GSPLBASSDC

GSPLBASSDC

Jan 25, 2005
    Phoenix, AZ
    I use the joint between A and B and my thumb is approx 45 degrees to the string. That allows a more pronounced ring and crispness, IMO.