quick tutorial on rosin?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by cinderjack, Dec 28, 2007.

1. cinderjack

cinderjack

Dec 28, 2007
    I got a bow for Christmas. I'm new to bowing (have played bluegrass up until now), so I have a couple questions about rosin:
    1) can I use the rosin that I've been using on my violin bow? Or do I have to use bass rosin?
    2) if violin rosin is bad and I've already put some on the bass bow, do I need to try to remove it somehow? Or can I just put some bass rosin on top?

2. You probably won't get enough grip to make it work well, at least on a new bow. Violin rosin is much harder than most bass rosins (at least rosin that isn't ancient). It'll be good enough to get you through trying the bow over the holidays at least.

Some bass players use violin/cello rosin for solo playing, Bernadel seems to be more popular (I use it for violin and sometimes for bass). So i don't think you are doing anything wrong using your violin rosin for now.

When you need to get the low strings going reliably, it seems that you just need something stickier than violin rosin. For the bass, I usually use Oak medium or Carlson bass rosin (they are harder than Pops, which may be the most popular one).

3. You can use violin rosin, and that will get you started, but you don't want to use too much of it. There's no reasonable way to get it off, although you can flick all the dust off by running a fingernail crossways over the hair a bit. When you do get some bass rosin, which you should do as soon as you reasonably can, the less violin rosin is left in the bow the sooner the bass rosin will start working properly. You'll understand the difference immediately, there's much more grip. One time a violin player borrowed my rosin, he broke a string almost instantly (and the sound was appalling).