1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Quitting smoking - help me out

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by project_c, Aug 1, 2012.

1. project_c

project_c

May 8, 2008
    London, UK
    I think I've finally managed to quit smoking.

I'm turning 39 this year, and thought it was time to call it a day. I smoked around 20 a day for the past 20 years, it's not been easy to stop! So I thought I'd share my experiences, and ask for a bit of advice from any of you ex-smokers.

I've had a lot of 'wisdom' from people about what to do when quitting, and it's all been great, but it's all been from 'normal' people, and I really want to hear from musicians and creative people who have managed to quit smoking, and carry on being creative and making music / art.

As well as playing bass, I work as a freelance artist, which means working from home a lot, and it also means over the years I ended up relying on cigarettes almost as an integral part of my creative process. Other smokers in creative jobs will know what I'm talking about: during every stage of the creative process, I would stop and have a smoke, and reflect on the work I was doing. The same thing applies to music. I'd write a bassline, then sit back with a smoke and listen. Smoking was totally integrated into my creative process.

I found that getting rid of the nicotine addiction was horrible for the first 3 days, but after that, it really wasn't an issue at all. Physically, I feel better than ever. I'm going to the gym every other day, I go for huge walks, I cycle every day, I feel awesome. My skin looks better, I have tons of energy, and food tastes amazing. (A bit too amazing! I have to be careful about how much sugar I'm craving...)