1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

racial profiling: am I guilty?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by fmoore200, Jan 7, 2012.

1. fmoore200

fmoore200

Mar 22, 2011
    NYC
    As some of you may know, I am a bus driver in nyc. The bus route that I currently drive (finish tomorrow, woohoo!!) goes between a primarily Asian neighborhood in Flushing (that should get Maki involved in the thread, right?) and a mostly black and Spanish neighborhood in the Bronx.

At the main terminal point in the Bronx leg of the run tonight I did something that immediately made me feel uncomfortable. I was going towards the Bronx side and an Asian woman gets on the bus and I ask her if she is going to the Bronx or Queens.

I was trying to be helpful. It has happened to me before where someone was running for the bus, doesn't read the sign to see where the destination is and has to get off a stop or two later and find a way back.

Helpful or not, was what I did insensitive, ignorant, or worse?

2. D.A.R.K.

D.A.R.K. Supporting Member

Aug 20, 2003
    Virginia
    Sounds like you were trying to help someone based on your knowledge of certain areas and their general cultural populations. Doesn't make you a racist to know your routes.
    Was she made uncomfortable?

3. Bus driver in NYC!!!! What an exciting job :) You must have tons of stories.
    Sorry, can't really contribute much to your actual problem :(

4. fmoore200

fmoore200

Mar 22, 2011
    NYC
    I couldn't really tell if she was uncomfortable, but I kinda was, lol...

And yes I do have tons of stories, especially working the night shift :)

5. king_biscuit

king_biscuit Supporting Member

May 21, 2006
    US
    You need to sign up for the white guilt camp Eddie Murphy and Steve Wonder were advertising on that old SNL episode :)