Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Rack mount question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CaptainHueso, Jan 26, 2005.

1. Hey guys. I'm really new to rack mounting equipment, and I'm in the market for getting a rack case with at least 4 spaces. I'll need it to hold my GBE 600, a Sansamp RBI, some sort of tuner, and possibly other things. I cant for the life of me find out where to purchase a rack case or how to know what size I'll need. Everybody seems to have a rack setup yet I cant find one for myself. Also any advice on what kind of tuner to get would be appreciated, and what exactly is the function of a power conditioner? I see alot of those but dont exactly know what they do or if they are essential. Thanks guys.

2. Happy MurphDay

Happy MurphDay

Mar 9, 2004
    around
    You can get a rack case easily, SKB cases are great, check those out. Id look for a 4 or 6 rack space case.

Get a power conditioner, because some high end furman power conditioners because it regulates the power if there is a surge or something,
    Power conditioners are basically a rackmout power strip. its easy at a gig to plug the one wire out of the case instead of plugging the 2-5 wires coming out of the back.
    also some come with voltage meters, and pull out lights.

also, Korg rackmount tuners are very accurate, and reliable, plus on the back of the GBE600 is a tuner out 1/4" which can plug into the tuner so there will be no frontal wires showing

3. Edwcdc

Edwcdc I call shotgun!

Jul 21, 2003
    Columbia MD USA
    If you are planning on getting a power conditioner, a tuner, and want to put your amp and RBI in there, you might want at least a 6 space. Most power amps take up 2 spaces. A tuner takes up 1 space. The Sansamp takes up 1 space, and a power conditioner will take up 1 space. That's 5 spaces and you have room for a wireless. :D