Rackbags - any good?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CoolHat, Feb 12, 2004.

1. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I've been using a 5 space Mesa/Boogie rack bag for a few years now carrying a BassTriaxis and a Coliseum 300. The whole thing is about 55 pounds, and it's held up great.
  2. jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    those rackbags are actually quite hefty themselves. pretty annoying.

try out the Odyssey rack bags. the outer bag slips off, so the rack is nice and neat looking. i've got one for my Aguilar DB680 and Stewart World 1.2 and its held up just fine.

also, if its that heavy, maybe you should try an SKB Roll-X rack? it has luggage wheels, and a handle for easy transport.

3. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    Yeah, the Warwick rackbags are really heavy. Also I'm not too sure about the build quality, I had three in a row either come broken or break within an hour of use. The wheels on those with that option just aren't up to any usage beyond wheeling back and forth from your car. I tried to wheel mine to the train station with me one night, and they came off within 100 yards.

I have the SKB Roll-X 3 space rack, very handy.
  4. Hmm...I´m surprised to hear rackbags are so heavy. I guess I´ll go for a hardshell then... SKB sounds fine. Thanks for the info! I´m buying online and the weight would have been quite unpleasant surprise...
  5. Passinwind

Passinwind I Know Nothing Supporting Member

Shallow X 2 space: 6 pounds

Standard 2 space: 9 pounds

3 space roller: 12.2 pounds

From the SKB website. I have the PDF handy, HTH.
  6. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY