Raise your hand if you play JAZZ

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jazzbo, Mar 14, 2002.

1. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    Okay, how many people here play Jazz? Raise your hand.

Keep it up.

Okay, now how many people here really play jazz?!

That's what I thought.

I'm curious. I started this thread not to get into a debate about what jazz is or how should jazz be played?, but rather to say, I think a lot of people are full of it. I'm not just talking about this website, (and I know that not everyone here has ever made the claim to play jazz), but also in day to day life. I meet so many people, and here at TB I also encounter a number of people, that profess to "playing jazz", (and this could be amongst other styles they play), but they don't know what Rhythm Changes are, they don't know the difference between Dorian and Aeolian.

The reason I bring this up, is because I've been studying jazz intensely, (daily), for over 2 years, and I fell that I have SO FAR to go to simply become good, not great. I couldn't invision myself sitting in at any legitimate jazz jam without being cut after one chorus. (This isn't even to mention the more casual jazz studies and listening that has taken place for countless previous years). I gotta tell you, this is not an easy style of music to develop, or even become adequate at.

Establishing an interesting, moving, breathing, and harmonic walking bass line through just ONE CHORUS of a jazz tune is not easy. Now, I recognize that jazz has many styles, (bebop, swing, straight-ahead, fushion, etc.), but how many people here can walk through a lead chart chorus after chorus?