1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ran into Jimmy Page!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by carlos840, Jul 30, 2012.

1. Today i was walking around London, in bond street, i am a street photographer so i always look at people even when i am camera less...

In the corner of my eye, 5 meters away, i see this old dude in jeans and old leather jacket, with a white poney tail turn in a perpendicular street, straight away i had a "could it be?" moment.

Walk up to the guy, mutter a "excuse me sir", guy turns around, and it is Jimmy page, with bags of groceries.

All i managed to say was " I think you are great, Led Zep is my favorite band (actually true), i just wanted to thank you for the music you wrote, and what you did for music in general!"

He actually looked really touched, shook my hand, told me he really appreciated, wished me a great day and we both carried on on our way.

I know it doesn't sound like much, but it was really a cool experience, felt good about it all afternoon. He really had a good vibe aura...

The mad thing is that it was at 5pm in one of the busiest streets in London ad no one had a clue who he was, if it had been Justin Bieber he would have been swarmed by people!

2. bassinplace

bassinplace

Dec 1, 2008
    Dude! That's so awesome!

3. Tituscrow

Tituscrow Banned

Feb 14, 2011
    NW England
    Er....you are a photographer....so where is the pic? :)

4. colcifer

colcifer Esteemed Nitpicker Supporting Member

Feb 10, 2010
    A Galaxy Far, Far Away
    Awesome story.

5. Well, i didn't have my camera!

I had loads of things to carry on the tube and i couldn't be bothered to take my camera bag on top of things...

It's always like that, every time i leave my camera at home great things happen.