1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Random question for formal gig guys

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Marikk, Dec 22, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Are heavy worn basses acceptable in the wedding, corporate, really formal type stuff? Either pre relic'd or something like Bobby Vegas 61 stack knob. Do you need a fairly pristine bass?

2. bass12

bass12 Say "Ahhh"... Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada
    I wouldn't worry about using a beat up bass in such environments - as long as you are looking sharp.

old spice likes this.
  3. I have a lot of experience doing weddings, corporate, and other formal-type events.
    It never occurred to me that a relic could be looked at unfavorably by guests or the customer, but with the random insanity people are capable of these days there's always a chance someone might use it as an excuse to dock your pay or otherwise be a jerk. Especially if there's open bar.
    Personally, I wouldn't take the chance now that I've thought about it.

Stickers on your bass, cases, amp, PA, etc are another story.
    Anything could possibly offend that one single "sensitive" soul who'll have no reservations about ruining everyone's night.
    Seen it happen, and it escalated so fast nothing could stop it.
    2nd worst gig ever.

4. Make sure your tux has been cleaned, (I have 2 and rotate them) and yes just leave the beater (even if it's a multi K vintage relic) home. Upscale gigs require you to realize you are being judged from the time you drive onto the property to the time you drive off. Everything you do and say can and will be scrutinized. Oh, and try to have fun, even if you aren't, look and act like it. Making a bigger payday can make you put up with a lot of "stuff".

5. Weddings:
    there will be millions of photos, looking "right" is important. Out of respect, better to err on the side of caution.