1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Rant .. need advice .. "I dont want to be a rhythm guitar player"

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by lopxtc, Sep 5, 2008.

1. lopxtc

lopxtc

Jan 18, 2007
    St. Louis, MO
    Hey all ... Rant first, and the advice question second ...

[RANT]
    Recently I started playing with what would my first band. Good guys, good music, get along great with them and they were willing to take on a beginner like myself. Songs are all pretty simple, mostly rock/metal with most of the songs being two or three patterns repeated. Nothing to complicated ...

However that is now where I am having a problem. Neither guitar player (lead or rhythm) reads music, and both of them have to think about what the note is that they are playing if I ask them what notes they are playing in a section (usually when trying to work through a song they already now and have been doing for some time), and neither of them could even guess what the chord is that they are playing or the time value of any note (whole, quarter, eighth, etc). Now the previous bass player would just play note for note the same thing as the rhythm guitar player, and I do mean literally note for note. In recordings they made when he was around its almost impossible to hear the bass player because of this, and the fact that the rhythm player jacks the volume up on his amp.